Hiding in Plain Sight_cropped

Hiding in Plain Sight: Youth Mental Illness documentary on PBS

A four-hour documentary about the mental health crisis among youth in America premieres on PBS stations nationwide on June 27 and June 28, 2022 at 9 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. CT, and 7 p.m., MT.

Ken Burns is the executive producer of this television documentary, Hiding in Plain Sight: Youth Mental Illness. The film gives voice to the experiences of young people who struggle with mental health challenges and focuses on the importance of awareness and empathy.

“About 75 percent of mental illness has onset before age 25,” said Thomas Insel, MD., psychiatrist and neuroscientist. “This is the problem that we all deal with in secret.”

The journeys of more than 20 young Americas from all over country and all walks of life are featured in the film. It depicts their struggles, thoughts and feelings of mental illness and suicide, showing at times, how these problems overwhelmed them. “They share what they have learned about themselves, their families and the world they have lived in,” said narrator Peter Coyote in the Ken Burns trailer.

The two-part documentary on PBS presents a frank discussion about mental illness about mental health in America’s youth. To watch the trailer for the show, click on the following link: Hiding in Plain Sight: Youth Mental Illness | Film Teaser – Well Beings

Check your channel guide for PBS or check the PBS website to find it.

If you, or someone you know, is in crisis, or experiencing thoughts of suicide, please text the Crisis Text Line (text HELLO to 741741), or call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Both services are free and available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

About Cheryl McCollum

Cheryl McCollum is a blogger for TDS.
No comments yet.

Leave a Comment