Flag Day is June 14. National Flag Day is an annual observance of the U.S. flag, but it is not a federal holiday. In observance of Flag Day, the flag is flown from all public buildings, and Americans are encouraged to fly the flag at their homes.

Fun facts about the U.S. flag:

  • The nicknames of the flag include: “the Stars and Stripes,” “Old Glory,” and “The Star-Spangled Banner.”
  • The flag was designated the national symbol of the United States of America by congress on June 14, 1777.
  • There have been six American flags planted on the moon’s surface.
  • Just over half (51%) of Americans have a flag in their home.
  • On the blue field of the American flag, there are 50 white stars, which represent the 50 states that make up the United States.
  • There are 13 alternating red and white stripes on the American flag. Each stripe represents the original 13 colonies that declared independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain: Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina and Virginia.

President Woodrow Wilson established Flag Day on May 30, 1916, when he issued a proclamation stating he hoped Americans would show “significant expression to our thoughtful love of America” on June 14 each year.

Our pledge: I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America and to the Republic for which it stands, one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

Here’s a refresher course on flag etiquette.

According to the Farmers’ Almanac, here are the days to fly the flag:

New Year’s Day, Jan. 1
Inauguration Day, Jan. 20
Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday, third Monday in January
Lincoln’s Birthday, Feb. 12
Washington’s Birthday, third Monday in February
Easter Sunday (variable)
Mother’s Day, second Sunday in May
Armed Forces Day, third Saturday in May
Memorial Day (half-staff from sunrise until noon only, then raised briskly to the top of the staff until sunset), the last Monday in May
Flag Day, June 14
Father’s Day, third Sunday in June
Independence Day, July 4
Labor Day, first Monday in September
Constitution Day, Sept. 17
Columbus Day, second Monday in October
Navy Day, Oct. 27
Veterans Day, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day, fourth Thursday in November
Christmas Day, Dec. 25

In addition, any other days as proclaimed by the President of the United States, State and local holidays, and the date of admission for States.

Leave a Comment